IPL reject David Warner leads Australia to maiden T20 cricket world cup championship

IPL reject David Warner leads Australia to maiden T20 cricket world cup championship

Australia 173 for 2 (Marsh 77*, Warner 53) beat New Zealand 172 for 4 (Williamson 85, Hazlewood 3-16) by eight wickets

Australia yet again proved to be a powerhouse at cricket world cup finals defeating New Zealand to win the coveted T20 cricket world cup.

David Warner scored a quick fire 53 (38b 4x4 3x6) SR: 139.47 while Mitchell Marsh scored the fastest 50 in a T20 world cup final to take Australia home.

David Warner's last three innings: 89* vs West Indies, Super 12s, 49 vs Pakistan in the semi-final and 53 vs New Zealand, today in the final. This is the same David Warner that could not find a place in  his IPL team. 

Mitchell Marsh broke Kane Williamson's record for the fastest fifty in a men's #T20WorldCupFinal - 31 balls! Kane Williamson set the record in the same match just a couple of hours ago. 

Mitchell Marsh scored 77* in 50 balls. 

For once Australia was not considered to be favorites coming into the tournament with several disappointing T20 losses while India, England and then Pakistan based on their first round performance proved to be the strong contenders.

The pummeling at the hands of England further dented any hopes of Australia being considered favourites. However, Australia came back strong with a series of victories including the semi final where they virtually snatched the match away from Pakistan in the last three overs courtesy of Mathew Wade and Marcus Stonis who took them home with a stunning onslaught on Pakistan bowlers.

Responding to a challenging 172 set by New Zealand, Australia lost captain Aaron Finch cheaply as Trent Boult once again provided New Zealand with an early breakthrough. David Warner led the way to a solid start while Mitchell Marsh started his innings with three back-to-back boundaries off Adam Milne.

Earlier, Kane Williamson smashed a brilliant 48-ball 85 as New Zealand managed to reach a total of 172/4 from their quota of 20 overs. For Australia, Josh Hazlewood was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 16 while Adam Zampa returned figures of 1/26. Initially, Australia won the toss and skipper Aaron Finch elected to bowl against New Zealand in the T20 World Cup final at the Dubai International Stadium.

Martin Gupitl will ponder on his strange innings of 28 from 35 balls while Glen Phillips struggled scoring 18 in 17 balls when New Zealand was looking to go all guns blazing with Kane Williamson taking charge.