Parliamentary Council holds its inaugural meeting

Parliamentary Council holds its inaugural meeting

The inaugural meeting of the Parliamentary Council established under the 20th Amendment was held today (04) under the patronage of the Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena at the Speakers official residence.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa, the Prime Minister’s nominee Minister Douglas Devananda and MP Kabir Hashim who was nominated by the Opposition Leader, Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake and the Deputy Secretary General & Chief of Staff Neil Iddawala attended the meeting.

The Parliamentary Council meeting which continued for more than an hour post its inauguration at 4.00 pm commenced with the Speaker welcoming all attendees whilst extending an invitation towards working more cooperatively in the future.

The Secretary General of Parliament then moved on to elaborating the legal framework and the functional aspects of the Council in accordance with the 20th Amendment followed by the instructions given by the Speaker.

Accordingly, the Council members came to a mutual agreement on the steps to be taken pertaining to the future functional aspects to be followed by the Parliamentary Council after lengthy discussions.

The inaugural Parliamentary Council meeting was thus adjourned scheduling its next meeting for the 10th of November 2020 at 10.00 am.